untranslated for fr

This is wrong, since White'll play at 12, capturing H1 and denying Black from having 2 eyes. (Would never happen.)translate this
Rabbity six.translate this
You won by 1 point. Open ended Black plays (or White plays that prevent them) such as 'B-D', are more valuable than dead end gote plays such as C8. The greater the number of further moves an open ended play has, the better it is. Black D was the only first move that could win.translate this
This sequence is ok, but the weakness at A makes it less effective than the alternative correct variation if Black wants to emphasize the left side. In any case, there is a gote followup to this sequence that will completely seal White to the side. What is it?translate this
Wedging doesn't work here.translate this
Black would like to develop on the left side. He could extend to the point marked, but before he does there are some forcing plays he can make against the White group, especially given the presence of the marked Black stone. How should Black force White before extending on the left side, starting with one of the moves A to F.translate this
Yes, this also works. Navigate solution at D2.translate this
If Black plays a ko threat somewhere else, will you answer it or kill the group? Suppose answering Black's threat is smaller than the group but bigger than just taking sente. Play A (K14) if you want to answer the threat.translate this
Direct ko, Black takes first? Success for Black? White should have connected at D1 after Black played E2 in order to get sente. However, as pointed out by Grebble, White can connect at D1 now (using it as internal ko-threat!), Black E2 and White takes the ko first!.translate this
White can also play 5 here and chose seki if the ko is favorable for Black. If Black would like to prevent this, he could deviate one move before (4) to A1 himself. However, then it is White who takes the ko first! White A1 here however is inferior vs. D1 (gote seki: Black E1, White D1), which means thar even this solution does not get full marks!translate this
The final result: a mannen-ko (10.000 year ko/seki) type situation. Sente for White! Can you imagine? Have a look at the comments (too big for only 3 lines) in the navigate solution.translate this
White D1 is much better because Black must reply at E1 (the approach-move ko at A1 against Black (White takes first) is very unfavorable ).The choice A1 or D1 is thus not about an endgame at E1 but about sente. With D1 White gets sente, because either player refrains now from starting an unfavorable ko against him/herself at A1, response at A2. Either player can resolve with A2, response A1 in gote for seki.translate this
Life by 'oshi-tsubushi', literally 'push and smash (squish)'. Http://senseis.Xmp.Net/?Oshitsubushitranslate this
Again the only move, threatening oshi-tsubushi, quenching (sqashing/squishing) for life with bA1, wA2, bC1 alive.translate this
This White move is wrong (should be C3). It does not give a consecutive series of ataris. Because Black has an eye and 3 liberties, White then will lose this fight 'me ari me nashi' with her own 3 liberties. Reverting almost to the other wrong variation.translate this
Even if there are White stones on the right, Black has nothing to fear about.translate this
Wrong + wrong = correct?translate this
Often a good move for taking the liberties, but now White ataris from the left.translate this
This would be a normal way to stop White's connection to neighboring groups (A, B, not C), but then...translate this
Black's problem is, that he cannot atari at D (auto-atari), neither can White at this moment. However Black must also stop White's connection to the right side. Against only a White B helps Black E. If there is a White A, then it is one of kos 1 or 2. If there is a White C, Black could not even play here and he better had taken the ko 1 earlier.translate this
If there is White Black around, otherwise White jumps there herself.translate this
White to move. What is the status of the Black group? Dead, Ko or Seki? What influence would White stones around A, B, C have?translate this
Works, but very ugly. There are definitely better ways (with less Black ko threats) to kill Black.translate this
This is not the hardest resistance from White. White can play like that if she dislikes the ko in the correct solution.translate this
White should realize that he can't save this, but this is for beginners, so... ;)translate this
This amounts to not much more than a simple hane at E and connection at F (with the difference that White has much better eye shape here. White's eye shape is in this problem however is totally irrelevant.)translate this
Direct ko for both (Black B or White C). White has to look for the first threat. It is astonishing that Black would start this ko (believing to win it), because after all, White only descended to A, when she thought she could do this ko (big for herself too). The difference to the wrong solution (check the navigate solutions) is thus very subtle: the position is exactly the same but at a different time of White's choice!translate this
White has got sente now and could freely chose the appropriate moment for descending with A. This move can lead to a sente-seki for White or a direct ko for both. This is a 'timing' problem (please continue to play on A to see more comments).translate this
If now White A (e.g. After Black B) White must fight immediately the unfavorable ko. Black could also start with C instead of B. If White then chickens out and has to connect at D, she simply lost points, even over the simple hane at E and connection D. The correct solution diagram has the same position, but at a different time!translate this
Black's dead - Why-o-why?! :'(translate this
White - 23 moku : Black - 13 moku -> Black lost... :'(translate this
Nice! (I connected as well - lost the game, but connected, and got this one corner.) Shouldn't happen as Black's unlikely to proceed with the ladder.translate this
Black lives in the corner, and everybody's happy... (You could resume it, but it's not a part of the problem anymore, as what's requested was to connect. To see for yourself that you can't kill, BUT a mistake would fail you.)translate this
Black still ends with only one eye at D5.translate this
Dead as A2/C1 kill.translate this
You won by 1. Due to its big followup move at F, the small monkey jump into this corner formation at S is equal in value to a gote move worth 14 points. When Black has an alternative reply to F of 9 to 15 points, it is bigger than the large monkey jump at C9. If C is worth 8 points or fewer, or equals 16 points, first moves C9' and S allow the same best result. If C is worth 17 points or more, C9 is 1 point bigger than S.translate this
You lost by 1. Jigo was possible from L, whilst a first move at S allows a 1 point win.translate this
Jigo, the best result from the large monkey jump. L is inferior to S when the size of the gote move at C is worth 9 to 15 points. If C is worth 8 points or fewer, or equals 16 points, first moves L and S allow the same best result. If C is worth 17 points or more, L is 1 point bigger than S.translate this
That works, but playing at C1 instead of D1 is a point better.translate this
That's just dead...translate this
Ko for the corner. White plays out her superior ko threat at A. Black responds at B.translate this
The marked Black stones are captured, or White makes a bulky 5. Either way, dead.translate this
Black's dead. (If he tries to take it turns into a bulky five in no time, and bam...)translate this
Nice! ^.^ (By creating a bamboo joint you secured a connection to the outside, while protecting the cut at L9 :)translate this
Oops? White: 20 - Black: 21 -> White lost!translate this
Correct! There's no need for a 'safe eye' or building walls or anything at all - AND it doesn't let Black to have a 'pushing point' at A17, which'd give him the corner! (I made 4 tsumego problems to show that Black can't live in the corner as it is. The best possible result for Black now would be a ko, with White taking first, if he goes for D.)translate this
K19 is wrong because now if Black ignores this ko threat, the K19 stone will be in the wrong place. After White L19, Black's stone would be better at J19. So J19 lowers the value of M19 as a ko threat.translate this
Black's alive! (A for 1 eye, B for the other.)translate this
Black to win the ko twice to live - still could be better.translate this
Black plays the marked move. How should White answer to get the best shape?translate this
Black would live - wouldn't happen.translate this
Can Black save all of her group? Sure she can - I saw her doing it! ;)translate this
Can Black save his D16 group after White A?translate this
Ko - Black needs to win it twice to kill. This is the best he can get, it seems.translate this
You won by 1. Due to its big followup move at F, the small monkey jump into this corner formation at S is equal in value to a gote move worth 14 points. When Black has an alternative reply to F of 9 to 15 points, it is bigger than the large monkey jump at L. If C is worth 8 points or fewer, or equals 16 points, first moves L and S allow the same best result. If C is worth 17 points or more, L is 1 point bigger than S.translate this
You lost by 2. Jigo was possible from L, whilst 1st move S allows a 1 point win.translate this
Jigo, the best result from the large monkey jump. L is inferior to S, when the size of the gote move at C is worth 9 to 15 points. If C is worth 8 points or less, or equals 16 points, first moves L and S allow the same best result. If C is worth 17 points or more, L is 1 point bigger than S.translate this
Jigo, the best result from the large monkey jump. L is inferior to D9 when the size of the gote move at C is worth 9 to 15 points. If C is worth 8 points or less, or equals 16 points, first moves L and D9 allow the same best result. If C is worth 17 points or more, L is 1 point bigger than D9.translate this
You lost by 1. A 1st move at S allows a 1 point win.translate this
Which is the biggest move; large monkey jump L, small monkey jump S, kosumi K, push P, or capture C?translate this
Black will have a struggle ahead for both cut groups.translate this
In the NZ rules set, ONLY territory is counted, and that includes the territory under the stones. So - Black has 12 moku : White has 11 moku => Black+1. If Black'd save the other group - Black'd have 10 moku and White'd have 12 -> White+2. Hence this is better for Black, by 3 moku. (Not considering E1 as it's a small endgame move after saving the lower group.)translate this
(Area Scoring) By how much is it better? (Check out the solution for the right amount.) (Not considering E1 as it's a small endgame move after saving the lower group.)translate this
NZ RULES. By how much is it better? (Checkout the solution for the right amount.) (Not considering E1 as it's a small endgame move after saving the lower group.)translate this
In the NZ rules set, ONLY territory is counted, and that includes the territory under the stones. So - Black has 10 moku : White has 12 moku => White+2. If Black'd save the other group - Black'd have 12 moku and White'd have 11 -> Black+1. Hence the other one was worth 3 points more. (Not considering E1 as it's a small endgame move after saving the lower group.)translate this
White takes the bigger group, and Black saves the lower one in gote.translate this
Wrong. According to the NZ rules set, only territory is counted - including the territory under the stones. If White takes it, both H1 and H2 are 2 points for him, otherwise it's 2 points for Black. The difference is 4 points.translate this
Nice! Territory including under the stones, excluding prisoners, is what's used in the NZ rules! Black:41 - White:40 -> Black won! :)translate this
Points in the NZ rules set are counted as the following - Only territory (no prisoners), including the territory under the stones. So dame are counted - If Black starts taking the dames, he wins by a point... This way White wins by a point! White:41 - Black:40.translate this
NZ RULES - Can Black win this game? Play at NO if you think, he can't. (NO KOMI)translate this